If/Then Condition in Trigger related query

Hi Team,

I’m very new to Tulip Platform. Can you please guide me below given condition how we can achieve in Tulip Button Trigger IF/THEN?

IF(TotalStage is  2)
{
       IF(UG1 text is empty)
       {
            Show Error Message to fill UG1
       }
      IF(UG2 text is empty)
      {
          Show Error Message to fill UG2
      }
}

Thanks & Regards,
Arun C

Howdy Arun!

Welcome to Tulip and the Tulip Community! We are glad you are here :slight_smile:

I want to point you to a couple resources that can give you a great overview of Tulip triggers and help you get comfortable with how they work.
https://support.tulip.co/docs/triggers

But to answer your question directly, I attached an example below of something that would work - there are options to tweak this / do the logic a little different so I encourage you to play around and see what works best for you. You can always test you logic in the “Developer Mode” as you build your apps.

Hi @Beth,

this is not the same :wink:

If your Trigger finds that UG1 is empty, it will not check for UG2.

You could:

• Build a more or less complex expression
  • Use Two Triggers like this (one for UG1 & one for UG2):

Unfortunately, this is already in an else statement at @Arun 's App. That means twice the same Trigger is no solution (it would repeat the other actions as well…)

I would rethink the usecase.
You could:

• check if UG1 or UG2 are empty and make one message “Make sure UG1 and UG2 are filled correctly”
  • Check for a minimum length of UG1 & or UG2
  • Check in separate triggers & use a helper variable to transport the result into the correct triggers else statement

You can make the use case as easy or complex as needed (you even could use a SQL connector function to deliver the result :smiley: )

It depends on the use case…

1 Like

@thorsten.langner you are correct! thanks for pointing that out and for the additional input :grinning: