Backend for Tulip Mfg Applications

I have a moderately complex mfg line I am trying to create a data model for, at least using Tulip as the front end for. One of the requirements of this data model is that it be able to support ‘recursive’, or ‘self-referential’ tables. Something along the lines of the ID of one table row may be a subcomponent in another table row, ad, infinitum (really only to a depth of a maximum of around 10 or so).

I have two questions in regards to this:

1. Can I do this with Tulip’s native Tables???

2. Can I use an existing SQL Server backend, and using the TULIP SQL Server connector use it to store most, if not all, of my data in?

I am fairly new to Tulip but impressed by its agility, and the speed and ease with which powerful functionalities can be created. I am considering building a SQL Server backend with Tulip handling all the front end presentation, logic, and conditions. Is this possible with Tulip??

Thanks,

William Kurth

Hey there William,

I saw your post and recognized that I am dealing with similar design aspects in tracking data in Tulip Tables and have needed to reference a SQL engine backend.

Regarding Tulip’s ability to reference tables, there’s been a lot of recent work in the development of Linked Tables. So far I haven’t gone too deep but this function allows for Tulip Tables to have one-to-one, one-to-many, and many-to-one relationships including self referenceing the Tulip Table itself.

Regarding the SQL ability, I have been adding a column in a Tulip Table that contains the ID of a SQL table that I use to reference when I use a SQL connector for our backend.

From my experience using a direct SQL connector is good for testing raw SQL (i.e. INSERT INTO ___) but feel having your backend built up with stored procedures will be easier to validate and error check when in production.