MS Outlook & Teams Integration

Hey everyone,

Just wanted to share a quick API integration with the community. For some reason I always find it exciting when I see how fast and easy it is to connect Tulip with some of the other tools we like to use. Here is an example of Tulip connecting with Outlook for a resource scheduling application.

Happy building!
Mark

8 Likes

Hi, how can we use this API?

This is using the microsoft graph API to pass information back and forth between Tulip and Outlook

1 Like

Thanks for the information @freedman, I am new at using APIs, I am able to connect to my own tulip tables but not sure how to link to my outlook calendar.

Is it possible to connect to outlook.office.com ?

Connecting to graph is a little more involved (but not much!) because we need to figure out how Microsoft recognizes who you are (authentication) and how they want you to communicate with them.

Luckily, they’ve built a tool to simplify this a bit and help people play around.

It is called the “graph explorer” and it lets you use a web browser to tinker around with the API before adding it to your projects.

First, sign in with your microsoft account:

Then scroll down and look at the endpoint options and click on one:

It will automatically populate the endpoint information at the top of the screen and display results at the bottom.

This should be able to get you started. Once you are confident you know how to get the information you want out of the API, the next step is to set it up with Tulip by allowing the Tulip connectors to run the API calls.

2 Likes

Hello Mark,

Your post is very inspiring and I can see unlimited use cases by linking Tulip and Microsoft.

I played a bit with the Graph Explorer you presented in your post (my admin consented to the relevant permissions to run the queries). I’m now trying to set my connectors/function within Tulip.