Stopwatch Widget - Full Build Description

Note: I am not a software developer, I am a new user to custom widgets too, there are certainly opportunities to improve this widget. Feel free to download and play with this widget, but use it at your own risk-

Hey All,

Just kicking off this category with a widget I’ve wanted for years. Threw it together this morning in about an hour, so its a little quick and dirty, but it is functional. (feel free to download my widget below, and import it into your instance)

The goal was a stopwatch widget where users could start, stop, reset a running timer, and access the value of that stopwatch.

You can see, there is a ton of opportunity to make it prettier, but its a start. I will walk you through how I approached making this widget.

My usual process is:

1. Setup dummy HTML
  2. Format CSS
  3. Write Javascript to make it dynamic

So let’s go through those steps!

Setup Dummy HTML
When thinking about my HTML, I know I basically want 3 rows, the top being the title above the measurement, the middle being the value, and the bottom row having all my buttons.

I will match this in my HTML. As a default, I always use a body tag around all of my html, and a div with id = container to contain all of my elements, neither of these is strictly required.

You can see, I have 3 div’s, each with the class row (having a class will help with formatting later).

The first two divs are very simple, just some text. The third div contains all of our buttons, each has a type, and an Id, this will help is in both CSS and JS to find each element

<body>
    <div id='container'>
        <div id='label' class='row'>
            Stopwatch
        </div>
        <div id='value' class = 'row'>
        </div>
        <div id='buttons' class = 'row'>
            <button type="button" id="start"> Start</button>
            <button type="button" id="stop"> Stop</button>
            <button type="button" id="reset"> Reset</button>
        </div>
    </div>