Hey! Pete From Tulip

Hello everyone,

I feel like an introduction is long overdue…

My name is Pete Hartnett. I’ve been a product manager at Tulip for the past 18 months, where I work with customers and software developers to create products that meet their needs.

Before joining Tulip, I was a manufacturing engineer at a fairly sizable Tulip customer (see @Peter.Hartnett for the boneheaded questions I was asked years ago). Our use case was primarily in the area of machine monitoring, but I ended up being exposed to a vast majority of the product during my time there. This experience gave me a unique perspective on the value that Tulip brings to customers and the opportunities for innovation in the manufacturing industry.

Outside of work, I’m a huge nerd for all things related to technology and automation. My apartment has its own unified namespace for controlling all my home automation. Recently, I worked on a clothing tracking application with Tulip, where I built a Tulip app to log all of my outfits (with the help of some iron-on barcodes) so I could better understand the most efficient ways to clear my closet.

As a product manager, I’m passionate about creating user-friendly and efficient products that solve real problems for customers. I believe that collaboration and communication are essential to achieving this goal, so I’m excited to join this forum and connect with other like-minded professionals.

Please don’t be afraid to reach our if there is anything I can do to help you on your Tulip journey. I’ve been there!

Pete

1 Like

[quote=“Pete_Hartnett, post:1, topic:8131”]
My apartment has its own unified namespace for controlling all my home automation
[/quote] Hahaha, with MQTT as main protocol?

Hahaha yes sir! Tracking/controlling a whole bunch of different devices:

• Custom ESP32-based door sensors for tracing restroom status (cycle time is a bimodal distribution :slight_smile: )
  • Custom ESP8266 based deadbolt sensor