Trigger step to query for a table value? Also some dumb questions

Hi Tulip Community!

I am pretty new to Tulip and diving head first into this, so I’m sorry if I ask some really obvious questions. I’ve been searching the KB and this forum to get up to speed, but I am still struggling.

First, the actual question.

I am trying to make a trigger so that

1. When a user clicks a row in a grid in an app
  2. Store a field from that row in a variable
  3. Look up the field in a Tulip Table (FirstOrDefault kind of thing)
  4. Return that value in a variable

How do I do that? Can I query a Tulip Table with a where clause or something? I know the table in question will return multiple rows but I just want one value. They should all be the same value, so the first one is just fine.

I think something like this?

Where 'My String' is some useful code.

And then my first really newbie question: These expressions - what language/syntax is this?

Oh, and by way of introduction, I work with @MikeRousch.

hello @JasonMcD, thanks for the introduction. welcome to the Tulip Community!! this is certainly the right place as you learn the platform. feel free to go introduce yourself also here: Welcome to the Community, let's meet! also!!

regarding your question, what are you referring to with the grid in your app??

if you embed an Interactive Table, you will be able to link a Table Record Placeholder directly to that Interactive Table that will pull all information everytime a Record is Selected. here’s a quick example:

Interactive Table (note the Record Placeholder on the left and the Linked Record on the right):

at this point, each time a Record is selected, all the information in this Record is made available in the App:

furthermore, you can add a Trigger to execute every time a Record is selected. in this example, it’s showing a message, but you could just as easily Run a Connector Function: