[Tip of the Week] Adding Line Breaks in Emails

hello all,

sending emails from Tulip is really useful to notify people in your team about things that are happening on the frontline of your operations. in Tulip, you can send emails with Variables, Table Records, Machine Data and static text. furthermore, you can format these emails with line breaks to improve legibility for the recipient. here’s how to do this!!

1. add an Action > Send Email > Expression and include '\n' where you’d like the line break
  2. save the Expression and you will see the formatting will be applied
  3. at this point, you will have to remove the \ from the Expression and re-Save the Expression
  4. as you can see, the email will come through with the line breaks:

hope this helps, let us know if anyone has any questions!!

2 Likes

Hi Gio, thanks for sharing this! This info was extremely helpful as I am very new to this. I have a couple follow up questions.

How did you assign the timestamp/date to the title of the email (Tulip Alert for 04Oct21 17:38)? My title would be the start of my message or expression until it is cut off and I can’t figure out how to fix that.

Also, do you know a good way for users to send a personalized message through Tulip to an admin (or assigned user) via email? In my case, I’m trying to create a “Help” button for users to go to when they get stuck.

Thanks so much for your help!

Hey Michael!

Welcome to community! Love to see new people joining the conversation.

There isn’t currently a way to change the headers of the emails. the “Tulp Alert for 04Oct21 17:38” is automatically generated based on when the trigger fires. In the past we have had similar requests to enable some more flexibility in email formatting.

I can make a feature request to get this worked on. Is there other information about the email would you like to be able to edit?